Submit a New Listing

Regions in Sri Lanka

Posted by in on 5-28-13

Central Province (Kandy, Matale, Nuwara Eliya)
This is the higlands of the country with a lot of beautiful tea plantations, waterfals, valleys and streams. Highest mountain piduruthalagala and the famous worlds end are situated in Nuwaraeliya.
Northern Province (Jaffna)
After end of the 30 year civil war this region is slowly returning to its status as an important tourist attraction. Some areas remain unsafe and have yet to be cleared from mines.
North Central Province (Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Sigiriya, Dambulla)
The ancient kingdoms of Sri Lanka dating back over 2500 years. Rich in history, the area is known as the cultural triangle.
Eastern Province (Trincomalee, Arugam Bay)
North Western Province (Kurunegala)
Sabaragamuwa (Ratnapura)
Southern Province (Galle, Weligama, Matara, Tangalle, Unawatuna, Yala National Park)
the historic city of Galle and national parks
Uva (Badulla, Haputale, Bandarawela)
cool highland hill retreats
Western Province (Sri Jayewardenepura Kotte, Beruwela, Colombo, Gampaha, Negombo)
the administrative capital and the largest city plus some popular beach resorts

View Location

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>