Submit a New Listing

Overview Brunei

Posted by in on 6-17-13

he Sultanate of Brunei (Full name: Negara Brunei Darussalam) [1] is a small but – thanks to natural gas and petroleum resources – very rich country located in Southeast Asia. It is surrounded by Malaysia and has two parts physically separated by Malaysia, almost being an enclave. Strategically located on the South China Sea, close to vital sea lanes linking Indian and Pacific Oceans, it has an exclusive economic fishing zone that extends as far as Louisa Reef in the southern Spratly Islands although it makes no public territorial claim to the offshore reefs.
Capital     Bandar Seri Begawan
Government     Constitutional sultanate
Currency     Bruneian dollar (BND), equivalent to Singapore Dollar (SGD)
Area     total: 5,770 km2
water: 500 km2
land: 5,270 km2
Population     398,000 (July 2008 est.)
Language     Malay (official), English, Chinese
Religion     Muslim (official) 67%, Buddhist 13%, Christian 10%, indigenous beliefs and other 10%
Electricity     240V/50Hz (UK plug)
Country code     +673
Internet TLD     .bn
Time Zone     UTC+8

View Location

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>