Submit a New Listing

Kyrgyzstan Overview

Posted by in on 6-5-13

Kyrgyzstan (Кыргызстан, formally the Kyrgyz Republic (Кыргыз Республикасы) is a Central Asian country of incredible natural beauty and proud nomadic traditions. Landlocked and mountainous, it borders Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west, Tajikistan to the southwest and China to the southeast. Annexed by Russia in 1876, it achieved independence from the Soviet Union in 1991. It has the most liberal tourist visa policy in Central Asia and one of the more progressive post-Soviet governments in the region.
Capital     Bishkek
Government     Republic
Currency     Kyrgyz som (KGS)
Area     198,500 km2
Population     5,213,898 (July 2006 est.)
Language     Kyrgyz, Russian
Religion     Muslim 75%, Russian Orthodox 20%, other 5%
Electricity     220V/50Hz, European plug
Country code     +996
Internet TLD     .kg
Time Zone     UTC +6

View Location

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>